Armstrong Space Symposium and Chair Installation

Ohio Union
Ohio Union
1739 N. High Street
Columbus, OH 43210
United States

Please RSVP by May 1 to or 614-247-4105.



7:15 – 8:00 a.m. Breakfast and Registration (Ohio Union US Bank Conference Theater)

8:00 - 8:15 a.m. Opening | Dr. David B. Williams, Executive Dean of Professional Colleges and Dean of College of Engineering, The Ohio State University 

8:15 - 8:45 a.m. Keynote Address | Dr. Michael D. Griffin, CEO of Schafer Corporation, former NASA administrator

8:45 - 10:15 a.m. The Making of the 'Small Step' and 'Giant Leap'

Moderator: Michael D. Griffin


10:15 - 10:30 a.m. Break

10:30 - 11:30 a.m. 'For All Mankind:' Space as a Global Enterprise

Moderator: Dr. Elizabeth K. Newton, Director, Battelle Center for Science and Technology Policy


11:30 - 11:45 a.m. Break (move to Ohio Union Performance Hall)

11:45 - 12:05 p.m. Welcome and Introduction of Lunch Session | The Honorable Robert Jones "Rob" Portman, U.S. Senator, Ohio​ and Janet Kavandi, NASA Astronaut and Director, NASA Glenn Research Center, Cleveland, Ohio 

12:05 p.m. - 12:50 p.m. The Man Who Took the Step: Neil A. Armstrong | Professor James R. Hansen, Armstrong biographer, Professor of History and Director of University Honors College, Auburn University 

12:50 - 1:00 p.m. Break (move to US Bank Conference Theater)

1:00 - 1:50 p.m. From Space Knowledge into Commercial Ventures

Moderator: Clay Mowry, Blue Origin 


  • Ken Davidian, Director for Research, Federal Aviation Administration Office of Commercial Space Transportation
  • Will Pomerantz, Vice President for Special Projects, Virgin Galactic
  • Mark Sirangelo, Corporate Vice President for Space Systems, Sierra Nevada

1:50 - 2:50 p.m. Space Applications for Sustainable, Resilient and Emerging Economies

Moderator: Steve Lee, CEO, Stevenson Astrosat, United Kingdom 


  • Dr. Robert Griffin, Environmental Archaeologist, Remote Sensing Specialist and Professor, University of Alabama in Huntsville
  • Chris Lee, Deputy Director and Head of International Space Partnerships, United Kingdom Space Agency; Chair, International Charter for "Space and Major Disasters"
  • Alvaro Samayoa, National Director of Industry and Commerce, Guatemala National Forestry Institute
  • Dr. Doãn Hà Thắng, Deputy Chief, Department of High Technology, Vietnam Ministry of Science and Technology

2:50 - 3:00 p.m. Closing Remarks | Jeff Wadsworth, CEO and President, Battelle Memorial Institute

3:00 - 3:30 p.m. Welcome Reception for Armstrong Chair Installation Ceremony (Performance Hall)

3:30 - 4:30 p.m. Armstrong Chair Installation Ceremony | Brief reception to follow

For information on area hotels, please visit the University Hospitality District