Seventeen earn prestigious faculty titles in 2023


At The Ohio State University, endowed and distinguished faculty positions are essential to achieving ever-increasing excellence in our missions of teaching, research and societal impact.

In 2023, the College of Engineering has bestowed prestigious titles and roles to 17 faculty members.

Endowed positions are one of the highest honors the college can bestow upon our faculty. They illustrate the powerful partnership between faculty and philanthropists in defining areas of discovery and bringing them to life. By funding endowed chairs, donors can convene the brightest minds to focus on particular problems or issues and spur advances in those areas.

Awarded to faculty who have achieved great distinction, endowed positions universally acknowledge research and scholarship of the highest caliber and signify the broad impact of the individual’s work. Endowed positions also aid in the recruitment and retention of faculty who are at the top of their respective fields, enhancing their ability to secure future funding.

Faculty named to endowed positions

Donald D. Glower Chair in Engineering
Professor Alan Luo, Materials Science and Engineering, Integrated Systems Engineering

The Glower Chair was established in 1999 by the Transportation Research Center (TRC), Inc., in honor of Dean and Professor Emeritus Donald Glower. He chaired the department of mechanical engineering, served as dean of the college, started the engineering co-op program and brought TRC under the administration and control of Ohio State. This position recognizes a distinguished senior faculty member for transportation-focused teaching and research.

The Ervin G. Bailey Chair in Energy Conversion
Associate Professor Nick Brunelli, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Established in 1978, the endowment’s income provides salary and program support for a distinguished teacher, researcher and engineer in the field of energy conversion. Bailey graduated from Ohio State in 1903. A prolific inventor, he served as 67th president of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and was recipient of the 1942 ASME Medal.

The Bernice L. Claugus Endowed Chair in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Professor Rachel Getman, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Established in 2015 with an estate gift from alumnus Edward W. Claugus, a private investor and aviation enthusiast who earned his bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering in 1981. Honoring his mother, the gift to his alma mater ensures that his academic passion, as well as students who share it and the college that helped cultivate it, will be among the best in the world for decades to come.

The Edgar C. Hendrickson Designated Chair in Biomedical Engineering
Associate Professor Daniel Gallego-Perez, Biomedical Engineering

Established in 1999 from Hendrickson’s estate, the endowment commemorates him and his desire to advance the quality of teaching and research within the college at the dean's discretion.

The NetJets Designated Chair of Aviation Modernization
Professor and Director Blake Stringer, Center for Aviation Studies

The NetJets chair is reserved for a nationally recognized senior faculty member focusing on enhancing the safety and efficiency of the aviation system through modernization.

Collage of Luo, Brunelli, Getman, Gallego Perez and Stringer portraits
(l to r) Luo, Brunelli, Getman, Gallego-Perez and Stringer

Ralph W. Kurtz Chair in Mechanical Engineering
Professor Carlos Castro, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Established in 1990 by Ralph and Helen Kurtz, this endowment supports a professor who pursues research, including teaching, in developing advanced mechanical systems and components of relevant industrial needs.

H. C. "Slip" Slider Professorship in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Assistant Professor Joel Paulson, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Established in 2008 with a gift from Distinguished Alumnus William G. Lowrie and his wife Ernestine in honor of Lowrie’s former professor and mentor, Slip Slider, who greatly influenced his choice of career and inspired him to help others in return. The Slider Professorship supports an untenured junior faculty member to establish their research program.

Elizabeth and John Tinkham Endowed Professorship in Engineering
Professor and Chair Balasubramaniam Shanker, Electrical and Computer Engineering

This endowment was established in 2023 through a gift from Distinguished Alumna Elizabeth Tinkham and husband John.

Transportation Research Center, Inc. Chair in Intelligent Transportation Systems
Professor Zak Kassas, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Established in 1997 by the Transportation Research Center, Inc., this endowment supports a faculty member in education and research in transportation-related technologies.

Collage of Castro, Paulson, Shanker and Kassas portraits
Castro, Paulson, Shanker and Kassas

Faculty named to distinguished positions

College of Engineering Distinguished Professor
Professor and Section Head Jennifer Clark, City and Regional Planning
Siddharth Rajan, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Limited to no more than 10% of the professors in the college, this honorific recognizes excellence in teaching, scholarship and service among professors with a minimum of five years’ service.

College of Engineering Distinguished Assistant Professor of Engineering Inclusive Excellence
Assistant Professor Wei-Lun Chao, Computer Science and Engineering

This honorific recognizes continued excellence in fostering inclusive excellence in teaching, scholarship and service.

Collage of Clark, Rajan, Chao and Reategui portraits
Clark, Rajan, Chao and Reátegui

College of Engineering Innovation Scholar
Associate Professor Eduardo Reátegui, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Associate Professor
Natalia Higuita-Castro, Biomedical Engineering
Associate Professor
Devina Purmessur Walter, Biomedical Engineering
Associate Professor
Katelyn Swindle-Reilly, Biomedical Engineering, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Associate Professor
Huan Sun, Computer Science and Engineering

This honorific recognizes tenure track associate professors with a minimum of five years’ service in the college for intellectual leadership, excellence and performance in research, teaching and professional service.

Collage of Higuita-Castro, Purmessur, Swindle-Reilly and Sun
Higuita-Castro, Purmessur Walter, Swindle-Reilly and Sun
Categories: FacultyGiving