You are here

Ghadiali joins medical and biological engineering elite

Samir Ghadiali, chair-elect and professor of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, was inducted this week to The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) College of Fellows.

Samir GhadialiAs an AIMBE Fellow, Ghadiali joins 1,500 outstanding bioengineers, entrepreneurs and innovators who have distinguished themselves through significant and transformative contributions in research, education and industrial practice. Fellows represent the top two percent of the medical and biological engineering community in the country.

Also a professor in the College of Medicine, Ghadiali was nominated, reviewed and elected by peers and members of the College of Fellows for outstanding contributions to the fields of respiratory biomechanics and cellular mechanobiology, and leadership in biomedical engineering education

Ghadiali is a recognized expert in the areas of biofluid mechanics, multi-scale modeling and pulmonary mechanobiology. In 2013, Ghadiali was awarded a $1.2 million grant from the National Institutes of Health to develop computational models of the respiratory system in patients with chronic ear infections (i.e., otitis media) and has received National Science Foundation grants to investigate the biomechanical mechanisms of lung injury and cancer metastasis. His group is currently developing “lung-on-a-chip” platforms for drug screening applications. 

Ohio State's 14th AIMBE Fellow, Ghadiali has authored more than 80 peer reviewed publications and has twice been chair of the Respiratory Engineering track at the annual Biomedical Engineering Society meeting. He received the NSF Career Award in 2008, the Herman Weed Excellence in Teaching Award in 2010 and the Lumley Interdisciplinary Research Award in 2015.  

A formal induction ceremony was held during the AIMBE Annual Meeting at the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, DC on April 9. Ghadiali was inducted along with 156 colleagues who make up the AIMBE College of Fellows Class of 2018.