You are here

Engineering physics student named Goldwater Scholar

Ohio State engineering honors student Kyle DeBry has been named a 2018 Goldwater Scholar, the most prestigious national award for undergraduate researchers in science, math, and engineering. Awarded through the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program, Goldwater Scholars receive funds to cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500.  

Kyle DeBryMajoring in engineering physics, DeBry plans to conduct research in the field of quantum information science, specifically quantum computing. He is currently working on a research project studying quantum key distribution and quantum machine learning under the direction of Physics Professors Daniel Gauthier and Gregory Lafyatis. In the course of this project, DeBry has developed a way to fabricate superconducting coaxial cables for use in his laboratory's cryostat to reduce the heat load on the coldest stage. He also has fabricated superconducting nanowire single photon detectors (SNSPDs). He intends to pursue a PhD, during which time he will conduct experimental research with the goal of creating practically useful quantum computers.

From a field of 1,280 mathematics, science and engineering students nominated nationwide, 211 scholarships were awarded to sophomores and juniors on the basis of academic merit. An additional 281 honorable mentions were also awarded. Each institution may only nominate four students for this award. Since the award's inception in 1986, Ohio State has produced 56 Goldwater Scholars; 47 of the university's last 52 nominees have been recognized as a scholar or honorable mention.

In 2016, engineering honors students Lagnajit (Lucky) Pattanaik and Ross Vasko were named Goldwater Scholars.