Four engineering faculty named 2017 IEEE Fellows


Professors (l to r) Tamal Dey, Eylem Ekici, Prasun Sinha and Carol Smidts were named 2017 IEEE Fellows.
Four College of Engineering faculty members were named 2017 Fellows by the prestigious Institute of Electronics and Electrical Engineers (IEEE). 

IEEE recognized Computer Science and Engineering Professor Tamal Dey for contributions to geometric computing; Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor Eylem Ekici for contributions to algorithms, protocols and architectures of multi-hop wireless networks; Computer Science and Engineering Professor Prasun Sinha for contributions to scheduling and resource allocations in wireless networks; and Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Professor Carol Smidts for contributions to reliability analysis of high-assurance systems.

The IEEE Fellowship status is considered the highest grade of membership, recognized by the technical community as a prestigious honor and an important career achievement.

According to IEEE President and CEO Howard Michel, less than 0.1 percent of IEEE voting members are selected for this recognition annually. Recipients are chosen after a “rigorous evaluation procedure” to honor their outstanding record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest.

IEEE is the world’s leading professional association for advancing technology for humanity. Through its 400,000 members in 160 countries, the organization is a leading authority on a wide variety of areas ranging from aerospace systems, computers and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electric power and consumer electronics.

contributions from Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Categories: AwardsFaculty