COVID-19 Update: The university remains under a state of emergency. Learn more about guidelines and requirements in place for return to our campuses at Safe and Healthy Buckeyes.

You are here

Dean Williams appointed to inaugural Ohio Aerospace and Aviation Technology Committee

David B. Williams, Monte Ahuja Endowed Dean’s Chair and dean of The Ohio State University College of Engineering, has been appointed to the Ohio Aerospace and Aviation Technology Committee (OAATC).

Created by House Bill 292, the committee "will bring together members of an often disparate aerospace community, from military leaders, academic experts and the industry’s top innovators."

The OAATC is tasked with: studying and developing comprehensive strategies to promote the aviation, aerospace, and technology industry throughout the state; encouraging communication and resource-sharing among industry, military and academia; promoting research and development; and providing assistance related to military base realignment and closure.

In October, The Plain Dealer featured an in-depth article on the committee and state Rep. Rick Perales' efforts to establish it.

Dean Williams also serves on the boards of the Ohio Aerospace & Aviation Council, Ohio Aerospace Institute, the State of Ohio’s Third Frontier Advisory Board, the American Lightweight Materials Manufacturing Innovation Institute, Columbus 2020, Metro High School, EWI, ASM International, and the Transportation Research Center.

Tags: College