You are here

Engineering Professors, Student Named 2012 Innovators of the Year

The Ohio State University Office of Research today named two engineering professors and one student as 2012 Innovators of the Year.

The 2012 Innovator of the Year is Liang-Shih (L.S.) Fan, Distinguished University Professor and C. John Easton Professor of Engineering in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. Fan’s creativity, inventiveness, and original contributions to energy conversion, environmental engineering, and particle technology have made and will continue to make significant impacts on energy utilization and global climate change within the U.S. and throughout the world. He is a leading international authority in particle technology and its application for fossil energy conversion.

The 2012 Early Career Innovator of the Year is Jessica Winter, associate professor, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and the Department of Biomedical Engineering. Her research focuses on the applications of nanotechnology in medicine, an area of research that has led to substantial innovations with potential for commercialization. She is working to develop and commercialize next generation illumination and detection nanoparticles to supplant inferior products currently on the market.

The 2012 Student Innovator of the Year is Qussai Marashdeh, a senior research associate in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. Qussai received an MS and PhD in Electrical Engineering from Ohio State. In 2012, he received his Master of Business Administration (MBA). Qussai has revolutionized the field of capacitance tomography – an innovative imaging technique that has the potential to revolutionize the energy, aerospace, chemical, and healthcare industries. He was involved in every stage of the development and commercialization of Electrical Capacitance Volume Tomography (ECVT). Applications for ECVT include power-plant operations, combustion imaging, and multi-phase flow systems.

Read more details about the 2012 Innovator Awards from the Office of Research.