You are here

Ohio State University Flight Team earns top honors in competition

The Ohio State University Flight Team placed first overall in the National Intercollegiate Flying Association (NIFA) Safety and Flight Evaluation Conference (SAFECON) Region III competition held October 12-16 at The Ohio State University Airport. The team also placed first in the Ground Events Champions and second in the Flying Events Champions.

Ohio State aviation student Daniel Kirsh received the first place trophy for Region III Top Pilot. Ohio State aviation student Jennifer Logsdon was the top scoring female contestant. All five Ohio State contestants competing in the aircraft recognition event placed within the top 10, and Ohio State earned both first and second place in aircraft preflight inspection. Ohio State also placed first and second in the simulated comprehensive aircraft navigation event.

“All 12 team members contributed points to allow us to win the championship trophy, making this a true team effort. Collectively, the coaching staff is very impressed with the amount of time and effort the team put forth to capture our first championship in 10 years,” said Richard Ward, Ohio State Flight Team head coach.

The team competed against the other Region III colleges and institutions of Western Michigan University, Ohio University, Kent State University and the University of Cincinnati.

The Ohio State flight team included Eric Hueve (captain), Sean Maxwell (captain), Bernie Eddy, Josh Fisher, Ben Gaddy, Daniel Kirsh, Jennifer Logsdon, Anthony Pentz, Kyle Peterson, Alison Snyder, Ryan Terebesi and Carlos Vazquez. The team is coached by Richard Ward and Scott van Ooyen.

The Ohio State University will host the 2011 NIFA SAFECON. The event will be held May 16-21 at The Ohio State University Airport.

# # #