You are here


Stuart L. Cooper, chair of the William G. Lowrie Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, received the Society for Biomaterials 2010 Founders Award for long-term, landmark contributions to the discipline of biomaterials.

L.S. Fan, professor, chemical and biomolecular engineering,was elected a Foreign Member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering for his outstanding achievements in engineering and technological sciences as well as his contributions to China’s development in engineering and technological sciences.

Gerald Frankel, professor, materials science and engineering, was appointed as an adjunct professor in the Graduate Institute of Ferrous Technology of the Pohang University of Science and Technology in Pohang, Korea.

Richard J. Freuler, professor of practice, aerospace engineering, and associate director of the Aeronautical & Astronautical Research Laboratory and faculty coordinator for the Fundamentals of Engineering for Honors Program, was named Outstanding Teacher of the Year by the North Central Section of the American Society for Engineering Education.

William Marras, professor of integrated systems engineering; physical medicine and rehabilitation; and orthopaedic surgery,received the 2009 Paul M. Fitts Education Award from the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society for methods he uses to encourage his students to think critically and innovatively, using an interdisciplinary approach to advancing this discipline.

Jack Nasar, professor, city and regional planning, received the Environmental Design Research Association Achievement Award for “Designing for Designers: Lessons Learned from Schools of Architectures” (Fairchild Publications: 2007), a book he co-authored.

Jeffrey A. Sutton, assistant professor, mechanical engineering, received an American Society for Engineering Education 2009 Summer Faculty Fellowship at the Air Force Research Laboratory.