You are here

Faculty Members Named Fellows

Three professors from the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering were recently elevated to Fellow status by the IEEE. With these recent additions, the department now has a total of 22 IEEE Fellows on the faculty who are not retired and 16 IEEE Fellows who are emeritus faculty and retired research scientists. The honorees and their citations are Hesham El-Gamal, for contributions to multiple-input multiple-output and cooperative communications; Randy Moses, who also is the College of Engineering’s associate dean for research, for contributions to statistical signal processing; and Umit Ozguner, for contributions to the development of intelligent autonomous vehicles.

In addition, these engineering faculty members were recently honored by their respective professional organizations by being named Fellows:

  • Theodore T. Allen, associate professor, integrated systems engineering, American Society for Quality, for outstanding technical and research accomplishments, including publication in ASQ’s most prestigious journals, the training of more than 1,000 students in the quality discipline, the development of software used by thousands worldwide, and his many years ofinvolvement with ASQ through technical presentations and service
  • Somnath Ghosh, professor, mechanical engineering and materials science and engineering, American Academy of Mechanics, for his pioneering contributions to the field of multi-scale computational modelingof mechanical behavior and failure of heterogeneous materials like composites and polycrystalline materials
  • Teh-Hong Lee, research scientist, Electroscience Laboratory, Antenna Measurement Techniques Association, for outstanding and pioneering contributions to the theory, practice and art of antenna and RF measurements and for exemplifying and promoting the goals and objectives of the association
  • Chia-Hsiang Menq, professor, mechanical engineering, Society of Manufacturing Engineers, for new research findings in such areas as coordinate metrology, precision engineering and control and nanotechnology
  • Mohammad Samimy, professor, mechanical engineering, American Association for the Advancement of Science, for distinguished contributions to the understanding of compressible turbulence and for the development and application of advanced laser-based flow diagnostics and control technologies to aerospace applications. Samimy is one of 17 Ohio State faculty and staff to be selected for the honor. Those honorees comprise the largest group chosen from any single university in the country to receive this honor.