You are here

Monte and Usha Ahuja Distinguished Lecture Series: Engineering Flexible Electronics

Yonggang Huang, PhD, Northwestern University
Friday, November 9, 2018, 3:00 pm
Scott Laboratory
201 W 19th Ave
Columbus, OH 43210

Mechanics-guided Deterministic 3D Assembly

Naturally-formed, complex 3D structures provide essential functions in even the most basic life forms. Fabricating analagous architectures has been limited by materials growth and assembly capabilities. Now, origami-inspired construction of these formations using advanced materials has made it possible to design a variety of 3D geometries. A broad range of application opportunities exist, including semiconductors, radio frequency devices, neural networks and soft electronics.


Yonggang Huang
Walter P. Murphy Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Materials Science and Engineering
Northwestern University

Yonggang Huang is expert in the mechanics of stretchable and flexible electronics and mechanically-guided deterministic 3D assembly. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, European Academy of Sciences and Arts, Academia Europaea and Chinese Academy of Sciences. Recent research awards include the Drucker Medal (2013) and Nadai Medal (2016) from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers; Prager Medal (2017) from Society of Engineering Science, Inc.; and Bazant Medal (2018) from the American Society of Civil Engineers. He has received awards for undergraduate teaching and advising from the University of Arizona (1993), University of Illinois (2007) and Northwestern University (2016).



The Monte and Usha Ahuja Distinguished Lecture Series aims to attract highly accomplished and illustrious individuals, as well as those on their way to national and international renown. In addition to showcasing the work of current experts in the engineering field, this lecture series will inspire Ohio State students to achieve excellence and eminence in their own future careers in government, industry and academia.