Buckeye Engineering Women in Executive Leadership



The Buckeye Engineering Women in Executive Leadership (BEWEL) committee is a group of distinguished alumnae focused on advancing women leaders in industry, academia, and government. As senior leaders within our respective organizations, we understand the unique challenges faced by women in engineering and are excited to partner with our alma mater in an effort to encourage, recognize, and advocate for women who choose engineering as a career path. We engage with women across the college and highlight the accomplishments of the women faculty, as they serve as female role models to students and others. BEWEL also partners with the university to offer a voice on policies and initiatives involving the unique experiences of women at the collegiate level.

The BEWEL Leadership in Innovation Award

Created in 2019, this award is presented to a junior or mid-career female faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in research, innovation, and/or scholarship. The recipient of this award will be honored at the annual College of Engineering Faculty Awards Banquet.

The award will be presented to a junior or mid-career (tenure-track assistant professor, associate professor, or equivalent) female faculty member of the College of Engineering who has demonstrated excellence in leadership in research, innovation, and/or scholarship. 

Faculty and staff in the College of Engineering may make nominations in the form of a nominating letter (two pages or less). Faculty and staff from other Ohio State colleges or external entities who are collaborators with the nominee may also make nominations. All nominations must be on official letterhead of the nominators’ respective organizations. Include a proposed citation (25 words or less) at the bottom of the nomination letter. 

The nominating letter should address one or more of the following as demonstrated by the qualified candidate:

  • Impactful research
  • Innovation; including new methods, ideas or devices
  • Scholarship
  • Outstanding development and leadership of a team with interdisciplinary collaborations

Additional material, including supplemental information and relevant research publications/presentations, and links (including a link to the faculty member’s web page) may be included; however, the entire packet of information (including nominating letter) must be no longer than four pages. 

Selection Committee
One BEWEL member, one member of the Ohio State ADVANCE office, and one member representing the College of Engineering (leadership or senior faculty) will evaluate applicants. The selection committee will recommend a recipient to the Dean of the College of Engineering for final selection.  

The application materials need to be submitted electronically and must be submitted by January 10, 2020.

Alumni and friends can donate to the award fund: https://www.giveto.osu.edu/makeagift/?fund=316780



Tricia Baker ’94

Janet Braun ’82, ’85

Colette Pierce Burnette ’80

Marilyn Carpenter ’79

Elaina Carpino ’99, ’10

Lee Ann Cochran ’03

Nancy Dawes ’81

Jacqueline Dimarco ’95, ’96

Kathy Fox ’80

Bonnie Hammersley ’79

Lara Harrington ’90

Mary Juhas ’89

Lisa McCauley ’79

Sophia Mohr ’96, ’06

Vera Stavroff ’79