Professor, Student Win University Research Honors

Posted: November 08, 2011

The Ohio State University Office of Research today honored an engineering professor and student with 2011 Innovator of the Year Awards.Christopher Jaworski with award (from left) Carolyn Whitacre, university vice president for research; mechanical and aerospace engineering doctoral student Christopher Jaworski; and Brian Cummings, university vice president for tech commercialization

The 2011 Early Career Innovator of the Year is Dr. Yebo Li, assistant professor in the Department of Food, Agricultural, and Biological Engineering at the Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center (OARDC) and a specialist with Ohio State extension. Dr. Li has developed a successful research and extension program in bioproducts and bioenergy.Yebo Li with award Kevin Fitzsimons(from left) University Provost Joseph A. Alutto; Yebo Li, assistant professor of food, agricultural, and biological engineering; and Caroline Whitacre, university vice president for research

The 2011 Student Innovator of the Year is Christopher Jaworski, a doctoral student in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering in the College of Engineering. He is an extraordinarily inventive and talented young researcher who is interested in the study of thermoelectricity – the direct conversion of heat into electrical power – and the study of thermally “pumped” spin polarization in semiconductors. His research has contributed prominently to our fundamental understanding of the thermal properties of matter, and he has applied his discoveries to invent new and practical materials that have potential worldwide impact on energy conservation.

Read more details from the Office of Research.